Find A Pet


Breed: Labrador Retriever / Border Collie
Age: 2 years
Gender: Female

I love other dogs & all people!

My siblings are Julie, Jenny,  Jake,  Jane, & Judy!

I will be available for adoption on June 3rd. I cannot have any visitors before June 3rd. You will need to fill out an online application and receive a phone call back from a staff member that everything is ok with the application prior to June 3rd. All family members and any dogs from the household need to be present at the time of the adoption.

We open at 9 am Saturday mornings and we will be helping adoptions in the order of when they submitted an approved application to us. There will be a sign in sheet on the front door at 8:30 am so that we can pull applications for the people that arrive between 8:30-9am. Again, the order in which adoptions will come in to the shelter to see any adoptable dogs or cats first thing on Saturday mornings will be as to when the application was submitted to Animal House Shelter so there is no need to come to the shelter any earlier than 8:30 to sign in. This will be the procedure for people that arrive between 8:30-9am.

After 9am, on Saturday mornings it will be first come, first serve after we help all of the adoptions that signed in between 8:30-9am. Most people submit general applications to us which do not specify a name or a particular litter they are interested in so there is no way for us to know until people arrive Saturday morning at 8:30 how many people are interested in a particular litter, puppy, kitten, cat or adult dog. We always have around 300 dogs & cats available for adoption and the adoption counselors will help you to find the right companion for your family! We look forward to meeting you!

Adoption donation: $450

All dogs are microchipped, neutered, current on all vaccines, heartworm tested and started on Tri Heart Plus & Vectra 3D.

Please fill out the adoption application and we will call you as soon as we receive it.

A note from the foster:
“Hello.  My name is Jenny and I came into Animal House Shelter from a Southern Illinois pound  with my mom “Lucky” and my 7 siblings.   I am a mix of lab and border collie.  I probably won’t get over 40 pounds as my mom (the lab part) is quite petite.

I get so many kisses from my foster mom who has named me after her daughter. My black and white markings have what appears to be a “wave” of white coming half way down the black of my back.  (The first Jenny is now a New Zealand surfer.)  It works for me to get a few extra kisses.  I love to play, and play hard.

Still, like all puppies, I am good at snuggling when play time is over. So, if you have love in your heart for a  playful surfer girl like me, come and get me on May 27th !”